Behind the Catwalk: Backstage at Absolute Style 2014

As of last night I am officially done my first year of fashion school!

*insert hallelujah chorus here*

I had an amazing first two semesters with amazing people and I’m very thankful for the relaxing break I get before heading back for my graduating year.

Each year the graduating class presents their pieces along with a final collection in a large scale fashion show at the end of their last semester. As a first year student I have the opportunity to work backstage during the show, helping with the models and dressing.

Last night was the big show and I must say, I had a blast. We did a matinee at 2:00 followed by an evening show at 7:00. The whole thing  was a great learning experience. I was taught all about what goes into a show, as well as what a professional backstage atmosphere feels like.

My job was to dress a group of four models. This means I was in charge of a rack of numbered outfits and my responsibility was to ensure each model got out of their previous outfit and into their next one on time and with all the correct pieces, accessories, and shoes. The graduating designers also gave us input on how they wanted their garments to be styled for the runway, and as a dresser it was my job to replicate their desires  on the models I was assisting.

Although chaotic at times, I thoroughly enjoyed myself. The models were fantastic and this years graduating class created amazing looks for the show. I honestly loved them all! Below are some pictures of the whole backstage experience, as well as some pictures of rehearsals. The pictures were provided to me by the University of the Fraser Valley, so all credit goes to their photography team.

Model Nicole has her makeup done by Blanche Macdonald School of Makeup.
Model Nicole has her makeup done by Blanche Macdonald School of Makeup.
Our lovely models waiting for for their call to take their places backstage.
Our lovely models waiting for for their call to take their places backstage.
My station backstage, working with models Nicole, Paige, Rachel, and Sam.
My station backstage, working with models Nicole, Paige, Rachel, and Sam.
Photos being taken of a graduating designer with her models on the catwalk.
Photos being taken of a graduating designer with her models on the catwalk.

Next year I’ll be out from behind the scenes and my collection will be featured in the show! I’m both super duper excited and terrified. I can’t believe I’ll be graduating as a designer this time next year!

With school out I’ve got lots of posts planned, and finally time to write them!

Come back soon!

-Cydney

Leave a Reply

